Home Governance Membership Meetings Publications Awards Standards Units SIGs Contact
: Governance
: ATE's Vision, Mission and Goals (incorporating Strategic Plan)
: Board of Directors
: Association Development Specialists
: Standing Committees
: Commissions, Councils and Task Forces
: Delegate Assembly
: ATE Position Framework
: Past Presidents
: 2017 Election Results
: Resolutions of the Association of Teacher Educators, 2004-2009
: ATE Resolutions 2010-2013
: ATE Resolutions, 2014 forward
: 2018 Election Nominations Sought


1921-1922: Arthur R. Mead, Ohio Wesleyan University; Delaware, OH

1923: W.P. Burris, University of Cincinnati; Cincinnati, OH

1924-1925: W.F. Tidyman, Virginia State Normal School; Farmville, VA

1926-1927: Frank E. Ellsworth, Western State Normal School; Kalamazoo, MI

1928: Ned H. Dearborn, New York State Dept. of Ed.; Albany, NY

1929-1930: W.D. Armentrout, Colorado State College; Greeley, CO

1931: Lidalee Tall, Maryland State Normal School; MD

1932: Earl C. Bowman, DePaul University; Greencastle, IN

1933: Florence Stratemeyer, Teachers College; Columbia, NY

1934: Raleigh Schorling, University of Michigan; Ann Arbor, MI

1935: W.D. Armentrout, Colorado State College; Greeley, CO

1936: Alonzo F. Meyers, New York State Teachers College New York, NY

1937: Charles W. Stanford University of Illinois; Urbana, IL

1938: Clara Stratemeyer, New York State Teachers College Brockport, NY

1939-1940: Edith E. Beechel, Ohio University; Athens, OH

1941-1942: Verna A. Carley Stanford University; Stanford, CA

1943-1944: J.W. Carrington, Illinois State Normal University; Normal, IL

1945: Camilla M. Low, University of Wisconsin; Madison, WI

1946: L.O. Andrews, Indiana University; Bloomington, IN

1947: F.G. Borgeson, New York University; New York NY

1948: Louise WorthingtonUniversity of Kentucky; Lexington, KY

1949: Edgar Tanruther, University of Oxford; OH

1950: Margaret Lindsey, Teachers College; Columbia, NY

1951: Max Huebner, Northern Illinois State College; DeKalb, IL

1952: Edna Heilbronn, Central Michigan University; Mt. Pleasant, MI

1953: Paul R. Grim; University of Minnesota; Minneapolis, MN

1954: Pearl Merriman, Western Washington University; Bellingham, WA

1955: Dwight Curtis, Iowa State Teachers College; Cedar Falls, IA

1956: Grace S. Nugent, St. Cloud State Teachers College St. Cloud, MN

1957: Thomas D. Horn, University of Texas; Austin, TX

1958: Jessie Mae Halsted, University of Wyoming; Laramie, WY

1959: Helen M. Reed, University of Kentucky; Lexington, KY

1960: Lois C. Blair, Indiana University of PA; Indiana, PA

1961: Donald Sharpe, Indiana State University; Terre Haute, IN

1962: Lois Demille, Los Angeles Schools; Los Angeles, CA

1963: Karl D. Edwards, University of Kansas; Lawrence, KS

1964: Randell R. Bebb, University of Northern Iowa; Cedar Falls, IA

1965: George R. Myers, Michigan State University; East Lansing, MI

1966: Dorothy McGeoch, Teachers College; Columbia, NY

1967: Alberta Lowe, University of Tennessee; Knoxville, TN

1968: E. Brooks Smith, Wayne State University; Detroit, MI

1969: Curtis Nash, Central Michigan University; Mt. Pleasant, MI

1970: Mary Ellen Perkins, Georgia State University; Atlanta, GA

1971: Bernadene Schunk, University of Wyoming; Laramie, WY

1972: Bill J. Fullerton, Arizona State University; Tempe, AR

1973: Hans C. Olsen, University of Missouri; St. Louis, MO

1974: Duaine C. Lang, Indiana University; Bloomington, IN

1975: Diane Sorenson, San Joaquin County Schools; Stockton, CA

1976: Alan F. Quick, Central Michigan University; Mt. Pleasant, MI

1977: Marvin A. Henry, Indiana State University; Terre Haute, IN

1978: James F. Collins, Syracuse University; Syracuse, NY

1979: Charlotte Mendoza, Colorado College; Col. Springs, CO

1980: Mike Shada, Kearney State College; Kearney, NE

1981-1982: Louise Dieterle, Northern Illinois University; DeKalb, IL

1983: Robert A. Roth, Michigan State Dept. ; Lansing, MI

1984: Peggy G. Elliott, Indiana University Northwest; Gary, IN

1985: W. Robert HoustonUniversity of Houston; Houston, TX

1986: Robert F. Schuck, Mississippi State University; Starkville, MS

1987: Janet Towslee, Georgia State University; Atlanta, GA

1988: Billy G. Dixon, Southern Illinois University; Carbondale, IL

1989: John P. Sikula, California State University; Long Beach, CA

1990: Shirley Robards, University of Tulsa; Tulsa, OK

1991: Dora Scott-Nichols, Houston Public Schools; Houston, TX

1992: D. John McIntyre, Southern Illinois University; Carbondale, IL

1993: Leonard Kaplan, Wayne State University; Detroit, MI

1994: Thomas J. Buttery, East Carolina University; Greenville, NC

1995: Rose Duhon-Sells, McNeese State University; Lake Charles, LA

1996: Peggy Ishler, University of Northern Iowa; Cedar Falls, IA

1997: Francisco Hidalgo, Texas A&M University; Kingsville, TX

1998: Lynn Montgomery, Anoka-Hennepin #11; Coon Rapids, MN

1999: Edi Guyton, Georgia State University; Atlanta, GA

2000: Linda Tafel, National Louis University; Chicago, IL

2001: Allen Warner,University of Houston; Houston, TX

2002: Carrie Robinson, New Jersey City University; Jersey City, NJ

2003: Frances van Tassell, University of North Texas, Denton, TX

2004: Ed Pultorak, Southern Illinois University, Joliet, IL

2005: P. Rudy Mattai, SUNY College at Buffalo, Buffalo, New York

2006: Jane McCarthy, University of Nevada Las Vegas, Las Vegas, Nevada

2007: Terry James, University of Central Arkansas, Conway, AR

2008: Paul Paese, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX

2009: Annette Digby, Lincoln University, Jefferson City, MO

2010: Terrell Peace, Huntington University, Huntington, IN

2011: James L. Alouf, Sweet Briar College, Sweet Briar, VA

2012: Ann Shelly, Ashland University, Columbus, OH

2013: Nancy P. Gallavan, University of Central Arkansas, Conway, AR

2014: Emma Savage-Davis, Coastal Carolina University, Conway, SC

2015: Linda Houser, IUPUI, Indianapolis, IN

2015-2016: Shirley Lefever, Wichita State University, Wichita, KS



Email This Page To A Colleague!


Quick Links:
ATE's 2018 Annual Meeting in Las Vegas
Nominations Sought for 2018 Election
KDP's Joint Letter on Teacher Recruitment
Standards for Teacher Educators
Revised Standards for Field Experiences for Teacher Education
Members Only Area
Tribute to Our Sponsors
Professional Opportunities
Join or Renew Your Membership
Publications Marketplace
ATE's Facebook Page
Emerging Scholars
Leadership Academy 


The Association of Teacher Educators
P.O. Box 793
Manassas, VA 20113
11350 Random Hills Dr., Suite 800
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 659-1708
(703) 595-4792 (f)

 Search Now
  Copyright © 2003 Association of Teacher Educators. All Rights Reserved.