Home Governance Membership Meetings Publications Awards Standards Units SIGs Contact
: Awards
: Award Recipients
: Panels & Committees
: Distinguished Membership in ATE
: Distinguished Research in Teacher Education
: Distinguished Clinician in Teacher Education
: Hans Olsen Distinguished Teacher Educator
: Distinguished Dissertation in Teacher Education (DDTE)
: KDP/ATE National Student Teacher/Intern of the Year
: Distinguished Program in Teacher Education
: Sikula Unit Awards
: Stevenson Scholarship
: Stevenson Scholarship Recipients
: Duaine C. Lang Distinguished Mentor Award
: LFTE Leadership Grants
: The Anne Richardson Gayles-Felton Scholarship
: Anne Gayles Felton Scholarship Recipients
: Peggy Wittliff Newcomers Award


Peggy Wittliff was a public school teacher in Minot, ND and an ATE Laureate. Peggy was a loyal member who served ATE in a variety of capacities over the years, including organizing the Newcomers’ Breakfast Meeting and serving on the Board of Directors as the public school representative.

The Peggy Wittliff Memorial Newcomer Award has been established by the Leadership Fund for Teacher Education (LFTE) with major support from Peggy’s husband, Gary. The purpose of the award is to assist a public school teacher (P-12 school-based educator), who is a newcomer, to attend his or her second annual meeting of the Association of Teacher Educators, immediately following his or her first ATE conference.

Eligibility Criteria

1.    Be employed as a classroom teacher (P-12) by a local or state agency
2.    Attend the Newcomer Breakfast Meeting at the ATE annual meeting

Selection Process

1.    A drawing will be held at the Newcomers’ Breakfast Meeting to determine the recipient.
2.    The award will be presented at the breakfast meeting to the winner of the drawing.
3.    Two runners-up will be drawn and offered the award (in the order drawn) in the event that the winner is unable to fulfill the award requirements.

Presentation of the Award

1.    The winner of the drawing will be expected to register for and attend the ATE annual meeting the following year.
2.    A cash award of $600 will be presented at the awards ceremony at the annual meeting the following year.

NOTE: The Award winner must register for and attend the annual meeting following his or her newcomer year in order to receive the award. The award will be made only if the winner or a runner-up is able to fulfill the requirements of the award.

Click here to download a pdf of the award application form.

Email This Page To A Colleague!


Quick Links:
ATE's 2018 Annual Meeting in Las Vegas
Nominations Sought for 2018 Election
KDP's Joint Letter on Teacher Recruitment
Standards for Teacher Educators
Revised Standards for Field Experiences for Teacher Education
Members Only Area
Tribute to Our Sponsors
Professional Opportunities
Join or Renew Your Membership
Publications Marketplace
ATE's Facebook Page
Emerging Scholars
Leadership Academy 


The Association of Teacher Educators
P.O. Box 793
Manassas, VA 20113
11350 Random Hills Dr., Suite 800
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 659-1708
(703) 595-4792 (f)

 Search Now
  Copyright © 2003 Association of Teacher Educators. All Rights Reserved.