Log in

  Association of Teacher Educators

Distinguished Clinician in Teacher Education (DCTE) Award

Sponsored by the M. Jane Grubb Memorial Fund and
the Donna Wharton Memorial Fund

The Association of Teacher Educators acknowledges the school as the principal environment for advancing effective teaching as teachers acquire new skills and practice them in the clinical setting of the classroom. The award for the Distinguished Clinician in Teacher Education has been established to recognize and honor those school-based teacher educators whose work in a clinical environment helps teachers become better at what they do.

This award denotes ATE's commitment to educators in four categories:

Division I-
The M. Jane Grubb Award, educators whose dual roles include classroom teaching and supervising preserves teachers. This award was established in 1995, in honor of ATE Distinguished member Jane Grubb. Jane was a school-based educator from the Lincoln, Nebraska area.

Division II-
Educators whose dual roles include classroom teaching and mentoring other teachers

Division III-
The Donna Wharton Award, those school district employees whose primary role is staff development/ in-service teacher education. The Donna Wharton Memorial Fund was established in 1996, in honor of Donna who ws the first recipient of the Distinguished Clinician Award. Donna was a school-based educator from Phoenix, AZ.

Division IV-
University faculty whose primary responsibility is mentoring and staff development of preservice and classroom teachers in professional development schools.

An award may be given annually in each division.

Award Criteria
  1. Nominated by State Affiliate or ATE member
  2. Primary work responsibilities are in K-12 schools. Functions in dual roles of classroom teacher and supervisor of preservice teachers (Division I); or, functions in dual roles of classroom teacher and mentor of other teachers (Division II); or, school district employee whose primary role is staff development/in-service teacher education (Division III); or, university faculty whose primary responsibility is mentoring and staff development of preservice and classroom teachers (Division IV).
  3. Demonstrates roles as a clinician to:
    1. assist teachers in applying the content of the pedagogy of effective teaching;
    2. establish systems for the development of teaching skills;
    3. emphasize reflective teaching and self-analysis; employ the exemplary coaching/mentoring techniques; demonstrate other outstanding supervisory traits.

Nomination and Selection Process
  1. Each State Affiliate is encouraged to establish its own DCTE award to identify and honor those in clinical settings who fill teacher educator roles. Nominations for the national DCTE award must come through the State Affiliates or ATE member. Nominations for the national award must be submitted by October 15 to Katrina Liu.
  2. Nomination packet must include:
    1. Cover page to include: nominee's name, home address and telephone number, name and address of employing school, job title with description of position and explanation of duties, dates of employment; names and addresses of immediate supervisor and school administrator; and, nominator's name, position in State Affiliate or in ATE, home and business addresses, and telephone numbers.
    2. Letter of nomination from an official of the ATE State Affiliate or ATE Member.
    3. Nominee’s reflective statement of their performance and effectiveness as a distinguished clinician in teacher education (no more than 3 pages).
    4. Professional resume of nominee which includes a chronological listing of educational experiences, previous positions, and professional activities.
    5. Letters from students, supervisors, peers, or professional colleagues to support nomination (at least 3, no more than 10).
    6. Documentation of the nominee that clearly demonstrate coaching/mentoring effectiveness and confirms outstanding performance or meritorious service as a teacher educator; for example, newspaper articles, award certificates, other commendations, invitations to present expressions of appreciation, program materials developed by the nominee,  student testimonials, video and photos, etc. (no more than 10 pages).
  3. Nomination packet format:
    1. The application must be no longer in length than 30 pages.
    2. All items are to be included sent electronically in a zip file.
    3. All packets must be sent by October 15.
  4. Dates 
    1. Nomination packets will be reviewed by the Selection Panel by December 1.
    2. Award recipients will be notified by January 1.
    3. Award recipients will be introduced and honored during the ATE Annual Meeting in February. Each national award recipient will receive a commemorative plaque and a cash award of $500.00 from LFTE. Direct any questions and send nominations packets to: Katrina Liu.

Previous Recipients

Distinguished Clinician in Teacher Education Award
sponsored by the ATE Leadership Foundation for Teacher Education


Rhonda Bishop, Missouri State University

Susan Harte, Sam Houston State University

 2021 No award
 2020 Sara Tipton, Missouri State University
 2019 Dawn Giles, Joseph E. Thiriot Elementary School
 No award presented
 Kelly Frederick, Mayberry Cultural and Fine Arts Magnet Middle School, Wichita, KS
 Lois Paretti, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
 2015  No award presented
 2014  Stacy Glass, West Lane Elementary, Jackson, MO
 2013  Division I: Elizabeth Renee Huffman, Burris Lab School, Ball State University
  Divison II: Gabriela Linik, Virtual Community School Columbus, OH
 2012  No award presented
 2011  Kenneth Packard, Ashland University
 2010  No award presented
 2009  Dee Holmes, Emporia State University
 2008  Jane Grubb Award: Susan Kluburde, Fargo, ND
  Division IV: Lynne Arnault, Mississippi State University
 Diane G. Corrigan, Cleveland State University
 2006  James Burchyett, June Burchyett, Miami University
 2005  Lori Dorn, West Carrollton School District, Dayton, OH
 2004  No award presented
 2003  Susan Weaver, Texas A&M University-Commerce
 2002  Marilyn Houkom, North Dakota
 2001  Division I: Marilyn Johnson, Bismarck, North Dakota
  Division II: Debra Mentzer, Texas
  Division III: Karen Bolak, Michigan
 2000  No award presented
 1999  Ann Mueller, Minot Public Schools, ND
 1998  Adela Cox, Leila P. Cowsert Elementary School, Dallas, TX
  Jean Morrow, Overland Park Kansas Professional Development School, Emporia State University
 1997  No award presented
 1996  Karen McClusky, Harrisburg (IL) Community Unit School District
 1995  Kevin Reisenhauer, Minot State University
  Lynn Montgomery, Adams Elementary School, Coon Rapids, MN
 1994  Linda Bean, Pottsville (AR) High School
 1993  Marlys (Susie) Fandrich, Sunnyside Elementary School, Minot, ND
 1992  Joan C. Boughner, Ypsilanti (MI) Public Schools
 1991  David M. Arneson, General Douglas Macarthur High School, Levittown, NY
  Teddy McDavid, Houston Independent School District
  James R. Whiteman, Fulton County Schools, Wauesson, OH
 1990  Rose C. Merenda, Henry Barnard Lab School, Rhode Island College
 1989  Peggy Witliff, Minot, ND
  Frank T. Lyman, University of Maryland
 1988  Donna Wharton, Phoenix, AZ

Follow our activities

Contact Us -
     Email: Click here
     Phone: (703) 659-1708    

Association of Teacher Educators
     P.O. Box 793
     Manassas, VA 20113