Log in

  Association of Teacher Educators

Duaine C. Lang Distinguished Mentoring Award

Sponsored by the Duaine C. Lang Mentoring Fund

The Leadership Foundation for Teacher Education is pleased to sponsor the Duaine C. Lang Mentoring Award.  Duaine C. Lang belonged to ATE before it was ATE – the original name of the group was the Association for Student Teaching. He was president of ATE in 1974-75. He was named a Distinguished Member and given ATE Presidential Service awards in 1985, 1988, and 1995 from three subsequent Presidents of the Association.

Duaine C. Lang was instrumental in the establishment of the Leadership Foundation for Teacher Education (LFTE) and could be seen at conferences at the raffle table and keeping the records behind the scenes. He was also very active in the Indiana state ATE unit. Duaine C. Lang is remembered for establishing the Roadrunners, doctoral students who supervised student teachers at Indiana University at Bloomington, Indiana. He mentored these students and others into ATE and into leadership positions. Four of his protégés went on to be ATE presidents: Peggy Elliott, Jan Towslee, Shirley Robards and Tom Buttery. In addition, his protégés have served on the board of directors and on many committees, commissions and task forces.

Originally from Nebraska, Duaine C. Lang spent most of his career at Indiana University. He was at Butler University in Indianapolis prior to moving to Bloomington. His three children and later four of his grandchildren attended ATE Summer conferences, a real family affair.

The Duaine C. Lang Mentoring Award is available to any ATE member. Protégées should write a letter detailing why their mentor should be honored. One additional letter of support is also needed. The Mentor will be awarded a plaque and a donation to his/her state or regional unit will be made in his/her name. If there is no such unit the donation will be made to the ATE Leadership Academy. The LFTE Advisory Council will select a recipient at the summer conference.

The award will be presented at the Annual Meeting in February.

Application Procedures:

  • Protégé writes a letter nominating a mentor, who must be an ATE member
  • One additional letter of support required.
  • Letters must be sent to:  
Dr. Cynthia S. Haggard

1375 Park 33 Blvd.


Goshen, IN 46526

Deadline: July 15th

Previous Recipients

 2023 Larry Vold
 Indiana University of Pennsylvania
 2022 No award
 2021  Nancy P. Gallavan  University of Central Arkansas
 2020  Renee Clift
 University of Arizona
 2019  D. John McIntyre  Southern Illinois University
 2018  Nancy Fichtman Dana  University of Florida
 2017  W. Robert Houston  University of Houston
 2016  Bob Fisher & Linda Fisher
 Illinois State University
 2015  Jane McCarthy  University of Nevada, Las Vegas
 2014  Billy G. Dixon  Southern Illinois University

Follow our activities

Contact Us -
     Email: Click here
     Phone: (703) 659-1708    

Association of Teacher Educators
     P.O. Box 793
     Manassas, VA 20113