Log in

  Association of Teacher Educators

Hans C. Olsen Distinguished Teacher Educator Award

Sponsored by the Hans C. Olsen Memorial Fund

The Hans C. Olsen Award for the Distinguished Teacher Educator has been established by the Association of Teacher Educators to select and honor those individuals whose contributions to the  preparation of teachers is worthy of special recognition. 

To be eligible for the award, a person must have fulfilled one or more of the teacher educator areas mentioned in the award criteria mentioned below.  Normally, one qualified candidate may be selected, but never more than two.

Hans C. Olsen Memorial Fund was established in 2012, by estate of Hans C. Olsen, who served as ATE President in 1973-74. Hans was given ATE Distinguished Member recognition, was charter member of LFTE and provided many years of leadership and service to LFTE as Chairperson.  Hans was Professor of Education at Houston and well known to ATE members for his counsel and encouraging participation in leadership positions.

Award Criteria

  • Member of ATE for at least ten years.
  • Nominated to the Selection Panel by ATE members in good standing.
  • Primary responsibilities located  in a college, university, government education agency, or broad-reaching councils or boards dedicated to the improvement of teaching.
  • Functions primarily as teacher of pre-service, in-service, and/or graduate students; or functions as a program developer, researcher, or administrator of teacher education.


  1. Models professional teaching practices which demonstrate knowledge, skills and attitudes reflecting best practice. 
  2. Inquires into and contributes to one or more areas of scholarly activity that are related to teaching, learning and /or teacher education.
  3. Systematically inquires into and reflects on personal practice and demonstrates commitment to lifelong professional development.
  4. Provides leadership in developing, implementing and evaluating programs for educating teachers that embrace diversity, are rigorous, relevant, and grounded in best practice.
  5. Collaborates regularly with school, university, state education department, professional associations, and community representatives to improve teaching, learning and teacher education.
  6. Serves as an informed and critically positive advocate for high quality education for every student, public understanding of educational issues, and excellence in teaching and the preparation of teachers. 
  7. Contributes to improving the education profession, particularly through ATE.

Nomination and Selection Process

  • Nomination packet cover sheet to include: name, phone and email address, name and address of employer, job title with responsibilities noted. 
  • Candidates are required to respond to each of the seven standards
  • Evidence may include, but is not limited to: professional resume, letters of support from state ATE unit, colleagues and students; course evaluations; a statement reflecting applicant’s philosophy of teacher education as it relates to professional goals and accomplishments; presentations, publications and participation in the design and development of innovative practices or programs.  
  • Applicants will be assessed by their ability to meet the standards of a distinguished teacher educator.  
  • Packet format: The entire packet is limited to 30 pages. Deadline for submission is July 25
  • Questions, nominations, and instructions for transmitting packets may be submitted to David Byrd, Chair.
  • An acknowledgment and preliminary instructions to the nominee will follow.
  • Recipient will be honored during the ATE Annual Meeting in February. 

Past Recipients

Hans C. Olsen Distinguished Teacher Educator Award
ATE Leadership Foundation for Teacher Education


Diane Yendol-Hoppey, University of North Florida

 2022 Nancy Fichtman Dana
 University of Florida
  Nancy P. Gallavan
 University of Central Arkansas
 2021 No award
 2020 Ann Gayles Felton
 Florida A&M University
 2019 Terry James
 University of Central Arkansas
 2018 Carrie Robinson
 New Jersey City University
 2017 Richard Ishler
 University of South Carolina
 2016 Jane McCarthy
 University of Nevada, Las Vegas
 2015 Renee Clift
 University of Arizona
 2014 Mary John O’Hair
 University of Kentucky
 2013 Ed Pultorak
 Southern Illinois University
 2012 Charlotte Mendoza
 Colorado College
 2011 Marvin Henry
 Indiana State University
  Frances van Tassell
 University of North Texas
 2010 Allen R. Warner
 University of Houston
 2009 D. John McIntyre
 Southern Illinois University
 2008 Scott Hopkins
 University of South Alabama
 2007 Billy G. Dixon
 Southern Illinois University
 2006 Mary DuPuis
 Pennsylvania State University
 2005 Edith M. Guyton
 Georgia State University
 2004 Robert Fisher Illinois State University
 2003 Louise Soares
 University of New Haven
 2002 Leonard Kaplan
 Wayne State University
 2001 John P. Sikula
 Ashland University
 2000 Kenneth Henson
 Eastern Kentucky University
 1999 Sandra J. Odell
 University of Nevada, Las Vegas
 1998 Martin Haberman
 University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
 1997 Robert Houston,
 University of Houston

Follow our activities

Contact Us -
     Email: Click here
     Phone: (703) 659-1708    

Association of Teacher Educators
     P.O. Box 793
     Manassas, VA 20113