Log in

  Association of Teacher Educators

Log in

Robert J. Stevenson Scholarship

Sponsored by the Robert J. Stevenson Memorial Fund

The Robert J. Stevenson Scholarship has been established by the Leadership Foundation for Teacher Education of the Association of Teacher Educators with major contribution from the Stevenson family to assist a classroom teacher working towards an advanced degree to enhance teacher leadership skills through the study of teaching. Applicants taking coursework leading to National Board of Professional Teaching Standards certification are encouraged to apply, as are those engaged in the study of curriculum and instruction and/or supervision.

This award was established in 2004, in honor of Bob, who served as ATE Executive Director from 1976 to 1988, when he retired. Bob was honored with ATE Distinguished Member designation because of his outstanding service and leadership to the organization. His family designated the annual scholarship award should be given to a classroom teacher with excellent service in education who shows potential for leadership in the field of teacher education, and is currently enrolled in masters or doctoral graduate study. The focus of the advanced degree program should be to enhance teacher leadership skills.

 The Robert J. Stevenson Scholarship is named in honor of the late Robert Stevenson, who served as ATE's Executive Director from 1976 until 1990.

This is an unrestricted award. The award may be used for tuition, books or other education expenses. There is an expectation that the recipient will report back to the LFTE Council on how the award was used. 

The current award is $1,200.

Application Deadline: July 15

All applications must be postmarked on or before this date.

 Completed applications should be sent to:


     Dr. Cynthia S. Haggard, LFTE Chair

Scholarship requirements:

  • Must be an ATE member
  • A full or part-time graduate student
  • Have a GPA of at 3.0 (out of 4.0)

Required documents: 

Completed application including...

  • Two letters of recommendation, one must be from a current ATE member
  • Goal statement outlining future educational and career goals
  • Copies of all college transcripts, may be issued to the student but must be an official transcript from Registrar’s Office

Click here to download an application in PDF format. (.docx)

Previous Recipients

 2020 Kimberly Jackson
 Shenandoah University
 Marcie T. Hull West Chester State University
 2018 Samaneh Jafari  Southern Illinois University
 2017 Dennise Donahue  University of South Florida & Hillsborough County Schools
 2016 Ana Luis  Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
 2015 Donna Rishor  University of Arizona
  Patricia Enger  Drexel University
 2014 Elizabeth Burns  Old Dominion University
 2013 Jillian Wendt  Dinwiddie, Virginia
 2012 Morgan Elisabeth Moser  Southern Illinois University
  Rachel Wolkenhauser  University of Florida
 Lori Fulton  University of Nevada, Las Vegas
 William Young  University of Nevada, Las Vegas
 Christie McWilliams  University of Houston

Follow our activities

Contact Us -
     Email: Click here
     Phone: (703) 659-1708    
     Fax: (703) 595-4792

Association of Teacher Educators
     P.O. Box 793
     Manassas, VA 20113